Leider keine Ergebnisse

KONTAKT


Hallo, mein Name ist
Kontaktieren Sie mich über
oder unter

Danke für Ihre Kontaktaufnahme.

Wir melden uns zeitnah bei Ihnen.

Schließen

Bisi Alimi

Sprecher, Politikexperte & LGBT Aktivist

  • Global issues
  • Health

Experte und Aktivist, der sich für soziale Gerechtigkeit einsetzt, vorallem in den Bereichen LGBT (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual und Transgender), sexuelle Orientierung, Gender-Identität bis hin zu kultureller Identität und interkulturellen Beziehungen, Feminismus, Bildung und Armutsbekämpfung.

Angelic Troublemaker Incarnate

– Bisi Alimi

ÜBER BISI

Bisi Alimi ist Gründer und Geschäftsführer der Bisi Alimi Foundation.

Bisi Alimi verkündete 2004 als erster Nigerianer im nationalen TV seine Homosexualität, was dazu führte, dass sein Leben immer wieder bedroht wurde und er nach Großbritannien fliehen musste. Dort lebte er als Geflüchteter bis er im Dezember 2014 die britische Staatsbürgerschaft erhielt. Seitdem setzt sich Bisi für soziale Gerechtigkeit ein.

„The Development Cost of Homophobia“ ist einer seiner erfolgreichsten Berichte, der weltweit in über 15 Sprachen übersetzt wurde. Sein Artikel für die Zeitschrift ‚The Guardian‘ mit dem Titel „If you say being gay is not African, you don’t know your history”, wurde weltweit verbreitet, zitiert und rezensiert.
Er berät die Weltbank im Bezug auf den ökonomischen Einfluss von Homophobie und ist sitzt in deren Aufsichtsrat, verantwortlich für den Bereich Sexuelle Orientierung und Gender Identität.

Bisi Alimi erntete viele Lorbeeren für seine Arbeit weltweit. Im Rahmen des British Institute LGBT* Film Festivals wurde er vom British Council als einer der 33 inspirierensten Personen benannt, die sich für Freiheit und Gleichheit weltweit einsetzen. 2015 wurde er unter die Top 20 der einflussreichsten UK LGBT Persönlichkeiten gezählt. Sein Engagement für HIV und LGBT Rechte in Afrika brachte ihn im Jahr 2015 auf die „TRUE AFRICA 100-list“. 2014 war er New Voices fellow am Aspen Insitute und Alumni des Monats. Er wurde in vier aufeinanderfolgenden Jahren in die UK LGBT Liste aufgenommen und nimmt 2014 den 77. Platz in der World Pride Power List 2014 ein.

* LGBT: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual und Transgender

I am a leader by default, only because nature does not allow a vacuum.

– Desmond Tutu

INTERVIEWS

Bisi Alimi hatte zahlreiche Auftritte bei Fernsehsendern als Sozial- und Politik-Experte. Darunter zählen Auftritte bei CNN, BBC, Al Jazeera und CCTV. Auch Medien wie NPR und The Washington Post haben über ihn geschrieben.

SPEAKER

Sein TEDx Talk „There should never be another Ibrahim“ wird zu einem der 14 inspirierendsten QUEER TEDtalk gezählt. Er gewann den ersten London Moth Slam, war Storyteller auf der Hauptbühne des London Moth und nach Talk auf dem Aspen Ideas festival wollte das Publikum eine Zugabe. Alimi hielt die Schlussrede auf dem Daily Beast Event, ausgerichtet in der New York Public Library, mit dem Titel „I am Bisi Alimi and I am not a victim.“

AUTOR

Sein weltweit erfolgreichster Artikel „The Development Cost of Homophobia“ wurde in über 15 Sprachen übersetzt. Im Mai 2014, 10 Jahre nach seiner HIV Diagnose, schrieb Alimi den berührenden Artikel „My 10 Years of Living With HIV“ für die Huffington Post. Unter seinen zahlreichen Artikeln ist auch sein Daily Beast Artikel anlässlich des World AIDS days 2014 sowie seine Kampagne für eine proaktivere Politik bezüglich PrEP für schwule Männer in homophoben Ländern.
Einer seiner letzten Artikel für The Guardian „If you say being gay is not African, you don’t know your history“ bekam sehr gute Kritiken und wurde in vielen Artikeln weltweit zitiert.

Sprachen: Englisch

Weiterlesen
Media

Bisi Alimi ist verfügbar

jetzt anfragen

TEILEN

Sorry no results

CONTACT


Hi, I am
You can contact me here
or here

Thank you for contacting us

We will come back to you shortly.

Close

Bisi Alimi

Public Speaker, Policy Analyst & LGBT Activist

  • Global issues
  • Health

His expertise on Social Justice ranges from LGBT (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual und Transgender), Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity to Race and Race Relations, Feminism, Education and Poverty Alleviation.

Angelic Troublemaker Incarnate

– Bisi Alimi

ABOUT BISI

Bisi Alimi is the founder and director of The Bisi Alimi Foundation.

Alimi was the first Nigerian to openly declare his sexuality on national television in 2004, and afterwards faced threats to his life. He fled to the United Kingdom, where he was registered as a refugee until December 2014, when he became a British citizen. Alimi is an outspoken activist for social change.

“The Development Cost of Homophobia” is his most successful article that was translated into over 15 languages globally. His most recent article for the Guardian: “If you say being gay is not African, you don’t know your history” has gone on to great review and cited in many news article globally.
He consults for World Bank on Economic impact of Homophobia and serves on the Bank advisory board on SOGI.

Alimi has many laurels for his work globally. As part of British Institute LGBT* Film Festival, the British Council named him as one of the 33 inspiring individuals promoting freedom and equality globally. In 2015 he as listed in the top 20 most Influential UK LGBT person. He was also named to the TRUE AFRICA 100-lists for 2015, for his work on HIV and LGBT rights in Africa. He consults for the World Bank on the Economic impact of Homophobia and serves on the Bank advisory board on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity. He was a 2014 New Voices fellow at the Aspen Institute and alumni of The Moth. He has been listed four years in a row on the UK LGBT list and was named 77 on the World Pride Power List 2014.

* LGBT: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual und Transgender

I am a leader by default, only because nature does not allow a vacuum.

– Desmond Tutu

INTERVIEWS

Bisi Alimi has appeared on many international television stations as a social and political pundit, including, CNN, BBC, Al Jazeera, and CCTV, and he has been profiled by outlets like NPR and the Washington Post.

SPEAKING

His TEDx talk, “There should never be another Ibrahim” has been listed as one of the 14 most inspiring QUEER TEDtalk of all time. He won the first London Moth slam, was a storyteller at the London Moth Main Stage and his talk at the Aspen Ideas festival left the audience asking for more. Alimi gave the closing speech at a Daily Beast event hosted at the New York Public Library titled, “I am Bisi Alimi and I am not a victim.”

WRITING

“The Development Cost of Homophobia” is his most successful article that was translated into over 15 languages globally. In May 2014, to mark 10 years of his HIV diagnosis, Alimi wrote a moving piece for the Huffington Post “My 10 Years of Living With HIV” He has also written many article including his Daily Beast piece to mark World AIDS day 2014 and his second Project Syndicate campaign for a more proactive policy on PrEP for gay men in homophobic countries.
His most recent article for the Guardian: “If you say being gay is not African, you don’t know your history” has gone on to great review and cited in many news article globally.

Languages: English

Read full story
Media

Bisi Alimi is available

request now

SHARE THIS SPEAKER